Sharing projects and inviting collaborators
When you invite someone to a project using the share panel in the top right corner, they automatically join your organisation. Inviting someone to a project is the only way of inviting them to your organisation.

Permissions and access in LumiDB are managed on a two-level structure:
Organisation roles: These manage what a user can do in the organisation, outside projects, such as viewing and managing projects and people in the organisation.
Project permissions: These determine what a user can do in a given project.
Organisation roles
Admin: Full control over the organisation. Can manage all projects, members, and organisation settings.
Member: Can view the organisation’s “People” page, create new projects. They only see the projects they are explicitly invited to.
Guest: The default role for new accounts. Cannot create projects or view the “People” page. They only see the projects they are explicitly invited to.
Here is a more detailed look at these different roles:
Capability
Admin
Member
Guest
View projects explicitly shared with them
✓
✓
✓
Create projects
✓
✓
–
View all organisation projects
✓
–
–
Change organisation settings
✓
–
–
Delete organisation
✓
–
–
Remove an organisation member
✓
–
–
Change users’ organisation roles
✓
–
–
View People page
✓
Yes, with limited functionality
–
View Settings page
✓
Yes, with limited functionality
Yes, with limited functionality
Invite someone to a project (also to the organisation)
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Add or import data into project
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Export project data
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Delete project data
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Delete projects
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Manage project access
✓
Based on project permission
Based on project permission
Project permissions
Can view: View data, stream to QGIS/ArcGIS, use the toolbar (compare, cross-section, measurements). Note: Changes they make do not persist.
Can download: Everything in "Can view", plus the ability to export/download data.
Full access: They can do everything. Inviting users, removing users, adding/deleting data, and deleting the project. (Note: Organisation admins always have “Full access” to every project).
Here is a more detailed look at the three different project permission categories:
Capability
Can view
Can download
Full access
Open and navigate project
✓
✓
✓
View project data
✓
✓
✓
Create measurements
✓
✓
✓
Can hide layers
✓
✓
✓
Stream data to ArcGIS, QGIS, etc.
✓
✓
✓
Export or download data
–
✓
✓
Persisting measurements
–
–
✓
View who else has access to the project
–
–
✓
Invite people to project
–
–
✓
Change other users’ project permissions
–
–
✓
Remove people from project
–
–
✓
Can lock or unlock layers
–
–
✓
Add or import data
–
–
✓
Delete project data
–
–
✓
Delete project
–
–
✓
Step by step: How to invite a collaborator
Open your project and click the “Share” button in the top right corner. If this button is disabled, you do not have “Full access” to this project.
In the share panel, enter the user's email address in the text box. You can add multiple email addresses by separating them with a comma.
Use the dropdown menu next to the email field to select their project permission (Can view, Can download, or Full access).
Click Invite.
Invited users will receive an email with a link that takes them directly to the project. This link will automatically create their organisation account if they don't already have one. They do not need to set a password. Instead, they can log in at any time using their email address and a secure login link sent to their inbox.
When a user is invited, their email addresses will appear under “Invitations”. When they accept the invitation and join you will see them under “Who has access”.

Link sharing
The “Copy link” button will copy the project link to your clipboard. When the Public toggle is off, only people who are already invited to this project, and organisation admins can use this link to access the project. If you turn the “Public” toggle on, anyone with the link can view the project, even without a LumiDB account.

Managing existing users
Managing project permissions (Share panel)
Changing permissions: In the "Who has access" list, click the dropdown menu next to a user's name. You can upgrade or downgrade their access between Full access, Can download, and Can view.
Removing from a project: In that same dropdown menu, select “Remove from project” at the bottom.

Managing organisation roles (People page)
To manage users at the organisation level, navigate to the people page in the left-hand sidebar in your home view.
Only organisation admins can change roles or delete users. Members can view the people page and see who has access, but they cannot make changes.
To change a user’s role, find the user in the "People with access" list. Click the current role to see the dropdown, then select the new role. You can delete a user from your organisation by clicking the ellipsis (…) button on the right end of the user’s row.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Can I invite someone to my organisation without adding them to a project?
No, currently invitations are initiated from within a project. When you invite someone to a project, they automatically join your organisation as a Guest. You can upgrade the organisation role to Member or Admin in People page, once they accepted the invitation and joined your organisation.
What happens if I invite an existing organisation member to a new project?
They will simply be added to the new project with the permission tier you select during the invite process. They will retain their existing organisation role.
Can a guest have "Full access" to a project?
Yes. A guest can have “Full access” to a specific project, allowing them to manage that project, even though they have limited permissions at the organisation level (e.g., they cannot see the people page).
What happens to a user's projects if I delete them from the organisation?
They will be removed from the organisation immediately. Any projects they created remain in the organisation, anyone else who has access to the projects will continue to have access to them.
Last updated

